Baked Fish with Mushroom Sauce

Fish had been a staple diet at home since I was a kid. There would be a fish dish (mostly river fish) everyday at home along with vegetables. Even when there was a meat dish cooked, there would still be fish fry or something by the side. It had become such a dreadful daily affair that it came to a point where I started hating fish! Maybe it was due to the fact we had it almost everyday, almost the same types of fish (except the seasonal ones) and the recipes were similar. A kind of monotony had set in. I had even starting having arguments with my mother as I refused to eat fish! When I left my hometown to attend college, I was so relieved from this and it was then that my staple diet changed from fish to chicken or meat and it had been that way since then! I ate out on most days during my college and I wouldn’t even look at the fish section on the menu.

However, after I came to Singapore, I found myself opening up slowly to eating fish again. It started with my husband asking me to taste the fish dishes he ordered for himself when we went to restaurants.  I started thinking “Well… these are not that bad, these are rather good!” I started trying out some fish recipes of different cuisines at home and started liking it. Another reason for this is the wide variety of fish available here. You’ll be amazed at the variety at the big wet markets! Even now fish is not the first option I would usually go for, but if there are yummy recipes, why not?

Recently, I wanted to try some recipe with mushrooms since I had two packets of mushrooms in the fridge, and hence tried this recipe.

Pic 11

Serves: 4

Preparation Time: 20 minutes

Cooking Time: 35 minutes

Ingredients:

Fish Fillet – 1000 gm (four fillets of 500 gm each), you can use the fish of your choice

Mushrooms – 400 gms

Cooking Oil – 3 tablespoons

Garlic – 4 medium cloves, chopped; 3 cloves ground into a paste

Onion – 1.5 chopped, 0.5 ground into a paste

Butter – 1 to 2 tablespoons

Whipped Cream – 1/2 cup

Vegetable Stock – 1 cube, mixed in 1/4th cup hot water

Salt – to taste

Pic 1Pic 14Pic 15

Step 1: Add around half of the quantity of the butter, onion and garlic paste  and 1 tablespoon oil to the fish. Make sure the ingredients are spread evenly and marinade the fish for around 10-15 minutes. Meanwhile, you can prepare the other ingredients.

Pic 3

Step 2: Heat the rest of the oil in a pan. Add the chopped onions and garlic and fry for few minutes until it has a nice brown color.

Pic 4

Step 3: Add the mushrooms and cook until they are soft, but not mushy. Meanwhile, pre-heat the oven to 125 degrees centigrade.

Pic 6

Step 4: Once the mushrooms are cooked, add the cream and vegetable stock. Cook until the desired consistency is reached. Add salt for taste. The mushroom sauce is done.

Pic 9

Step 5: Place the fish in a baking dish. Add half of the mushroom sauce on top of the fish. Bake the fish until cooked. Transfer on to a serving dish and pour the rest of the hot sauce. Serve with the bread of your choice.

Pic 10

Pic 12

A few tips:

  • I prefer baking the fish with half the mushroom sauce and then pouring the rest. If you prefer, pour the whole sauce on the fish before baking, or bake the fish separately and then pour the sauce on top.
  • Instead of vegetable stock, you can also use mushroom stock if available.
  • You can also add thyme leaves to the sauce if you like the taste.

One thought on “Baked Fish with Mushroom Sauce

  1. Pingback: Escalope Du Bar Aux Cèpes – Sea Bass With Mushrooms | RecipeReminiscing

Leave a Reply

