Apple Spread

Fruit preserves are my favorite bread spreads… especially home made ones. My grandmother used to make amazing fruit jellies and I would be the first kid in queue waiting for it. She would make jellies of Mango, Apple, Indian Olives (Jalpai) and other fruits, and I loved them! I really miss her a lot!

During this weekend, while thinking of cookie recipe ideas, I decided to bake cookies with some fruit filling in it. And what could be better than making the filling at home with fresh fruits? I had apples and hence the choice was ‘Apple Spread’. I didn’t have much idea about the recipe and called my mother in law for some help. Let me tell you …. she’s an amazing cook too and she was more than happy to share the recipe with me. I tweaked it a little bit and added Fennel powder to the recipe.

Try it out, and you will not be disappointed at all 🙂

Pic 1

Preparation Time (all inclusive): Around 35-40 minutes

Ingredients:

Apples – 3 medium, skin peeled, seeded, cut into small cubes

Water – 1.5 cups

Brown sugar – 70 g

Cinnamon powder – 1/2 teaspoon

Fennel powder – 1 teaspoon

Lemon juice – 1.5 teaspoons

002005004

Step 1: Add the water in a U-shaped pan and heat it for 1-2 minutes.

007

Step 2: Add the apples and bring to boil.

008009

Step 3: Add the sugar and Fennel powder. Stir every 1-2 minutes. Once the apples are soft, use a masher to mash the apples so that they are broken (do not mash completely). Add the cinnamon powder and mix.

011

Step 4: Turn off the heat. Let it cool for 2-3 minutes. Add the lemon juice and mix it well. Mash it to a paste or to the consistency desired. Let the spread cool completely. Transfer into an air tight jar and store in the fridge.

Pic 2

A few tips:

  • If you don’t have a masher, you can use a pestle as well to mash the apples.
  • You can use white sugar instead of brown as per your preference.

2 thoughts on “Apple Spread

Leave a Reply

