Devilled Chicken

A food blog without an Italian recipe? Well… here it is 🙂

The only Italian recipe I’ve ever tried is pasta. Not sure if the dishes I made were authentic Italian….probably it was a fusion one… haha… The other day my husband decided to cook pasta. So  this seemed to be a good chance to try some authentic Italian dish to go along with it.

To tell the truth, I was scared to try cooking an authentic Italian dish. I was under the impression that it’s very tough.  I always thought it’s a very exotic cuisine and the way the Italian chefs emphasized on the precision of the ingredients and the exact method of cooking them, it made me nervous at the thought of cooking it. But after I tried out this dish, I realized it’s not rocket science. I followed the same method as I did for cooking any other cuisine. After going through the ingredients, I start imagining what would the dish taste like with all the ingredients and whether I could add or subtract anything to alter the taste. And this has always worked for me 🙂

After browsing through several options I decided to make this one because it seemed simple and had a hint of spice which is my preference.

Try it out in your kitchen and let me know if you like it 🙂

026

Preparation Time: 25 minutes

Cooking Time: 25 to 30 minutes (excluding marinating time)

Ingredients:

Chicken – 600 g, cut into large pieces

Olive oil – 2 tablespoons

Lemon Zest – Zest of 2 lemons

Lemon Juice – Juice of 1 large lemon

Butter – 1 to 1.5 tablespoons

Garlic – 2 cloves, crushed

Chili – 2 dried red chilis, seeded and finely chopped

Parsley – handful, finely chopped

Salt – to taste

007

008

020

Step 1: Mix the Olive oil, lemon juice, lemon zest, chili and garlic in a bowl.

016

Step 2: Place the chicken in an oven proof dish. Add the mixture of Step 1 to the chicken along with salt and mix it well so that it has evenly spread on all sides. Cover the dish and keep it in the fridge for 30 to 40 minutes.

018

Step 3: Preheat oven to 175 degrees Celsius for 10 minutes. After chicken has been marinated for around 40 minutes, place it in the oven and grill for around 15 to 20 minutes or until fully cooked.

Step 4: Transfer the chicken on to a serving dish and place them side by side in a row. Mix the butter and parsley together and place them evenly on the chicken towards the center. Serve hot either with pasta or bread.

021

024

Leave a Reply

