Mutton cooked with green lentils

Here is one of the best recipes I’ve prepared till date! Mutton has been my favorite meat all along. In fact, I can have a mutton dish at least once, every single day! But in reality I try to restrict it to once a week or once in two weeks for health reasons of course, and most of the times I have it outside since it takes a while to prepare at home.

Last weekend I had lots of time in hand and so I decided to indulge in the very palatable experience. In the past few months I’ve come to realize something. I found that I get extreme pleasure in cooking dishes with ingredients I prefer the most. Even when I’m sorting out the ingredients, I start getting thought bubbles of what the food will taste like once I’m done with the cooking and the thought itself makes me very happy!! You may have already guessed by now that mutton is one of those ingredients 🙂

However, this time I was in no mood of having the same old mutton curry! Suddenly it struck me…. why not cook it with lentils? The thought itself made me excited! I had seen some middle eastern recipes in some cook books (can’t recall the name of the books) before where meat is cooked with lentils but I couldn’t remember the exact recipe. So I prepared the dish in my style. I used clarified butter (ghee) in this recipe. It gave an amazing flavor to the dish, but I tried to use as little as possible to keep it gentle on the stomach.

If you’re thinking of a recipe for a party or how to make your partner happy after a stressful day at work, this will definitely work!! 🙂

Pic 13

Preparation Time: 15 minutes (excludes marinating time)

Cooking Time:  Around 1 hour 15 minutes

Serves: 3

Ingredients:

Cooking oil – 1.5 tablespoons

Mutton – 500 g (with bone). You can use boneless as well as per your preference

Green lentils – 1/2 cup, boiled in 2 cups water

Pic 6

Red chili – 2 to 3, slit horizontally from the middle

Cinnamon sticks – 2 small sticks

Cloves –  4 to 5

Cardamom seeds – 4 to 5

Coriander powder – 2 teaspoons

Cumin powder – 2 teaspoons

Paprika – 2 teaspoons

Ginger garlic paste – 1.5 tablespoons

Clarified butter (ghee) – 2 teaspoons

Dried raisins or mixed fruits – around 1/4 to 1/2 cup (as desired)

Diet Coke – as required, for marinating (optional)

Salt – to taste

Pic 2Pic 1Pic 3Pic 5Pic 4

Step 1: Add some grated ginger and diet coke to the mutton and marinate it for 30 to 40 minutes. This will make the mutton soft. Once marinated, drain the diet coke and ginger and wash the mutton properly. You can use other methods to soften the mutton as well (as per your preference).

Step 2: Heat the oil and clarified butter (ghee) in a U-shaped vessel or pan. Add the dried red chili, cardamom seeds, cloves and cinnamon sticks. Once they splutter, add the onions and paprika and cook for 2 minutes.

Pic 7

Pic 8

Step 3: Add the ginger garlic paste, followed by the cumin and coriander powder. Mix well and cook for 2 to 3 minutes.

Pic 9

Step 4: Add the mutton. Mix it well with all the other ingredients and let it cook for few minutes until the color of the meat has changed. Now add around 2 cups of water, lower the heat and cover the pan. Let the mutton cook slowly in low heat. You will need to let it cook for around 45 minutes to 1 hour until the mutton is soft. Stir the mixture at 15-20 minutes intervals. If the water has almost evaporated and the mutton isn’t cooked yet, add a little more and cover again.

Pic 10

Step 5: Once the mutton is soft, add the dry fruit mixture and the boiled lentils. Stir to mix well and cook for another 3 to 5 minutes. Add salt for taste. Once you have the desired consistency, transfer to a serving bowl.

Pic 11

Pic 12

Step 6: Serve hot with rice or bread of your choice.

A few tips:

  • If you don’t have much time, you can use a pressure cooker to cook the above recipe. After Step 4, cover the cooker and let it cook until 8 to 10 whistles approximately. You can open the cooker after that (make sure you eject the steam) and then follow from Step 5.
  • Feel free to use the meat of your choice as per your preference.
  • I believe adding cashews and similar nuts would make it even more delicious. I was running out of stock and hence couldn’t add. Try it out and let me know 🙂

If you’ve enjoyed reading or cooking the above recipe, do subscribe to my blog by clicking the“Follow” button and “Like” my Facebook page at the top right hand corner for regular updates. Help spread the joy! 🙂

Pic 14

Enhanced by Zemanta

Leave a Reply

