Coco-nutty Egg

Last few weeks I’ve been quite busy with work, going out with friends and doing other chores!! In the midst of all this I hadn’t cooked at home for almost ten days. Well… yea you can say I’ve been a bit lazy! 😀 But soon I realized that I was missing the ‘cooking at home’ part. Eating outside or ordering in almost every other day just wasn’t working for me or my family. And hence I’m back into my cooking schedule and am thoroughly enjoying it as usual. 🙂

The recipe I’m posting today is something quite quick and appetizing. I had lots of vegetables in the fridge and some eggs, didn’t really know what to do with it! I knew I had to prepare something but didn’t know what except that I had to boil the eggs (preferred it that way). I sat thinking for few minutes but unfortunately it was a Saturday and my brain didn’t seem to be doing it’s part. Without further delay I started looking around in the kitchen on what sauces, spices etc I had and the frozen coconut caught my eye. I don’t prefer to keep coconut for a long time (even though stored in the fridge), so why not use it in preparing this recipe? Yes my brain cells were finally activated 🙂

I used only the egg white in this dish and added few spices to make it more flavorful. The best part about this dish was the color. It was so colorful, had five colors in it! I’ve mentioned before as well…. the color of a dish is something which always excites me…. the more colorful the better!!! The dish had a slight coco-nutty taste (of course it would as I had added the coconut) but the spices and other ingredients gave it a unique mixed flavor.

Happy cooking! 🙂

Pic 9

Pic 11

Preparation Time: 20 minutes

Cooking Time: 23 minutes

Serves: 3

Ingredients:

Cooking oil – 1.5 tablespoons

Eggs – 5, boiled, cut horizontally into four halves, yolk discarded

Mushrooms – Around 10, cut into halves

Green beans – Around 20, cut into 1 inch long pieces

Carrots – 1 medium, sliced into 1 inch long pieces

Baby corn – 8 to 9, cut into discs

Coconut – grated, fresh or frozen, 1/4 to 1/2 cup (as desired)

Butter (low fat) – 2 teaspoons

Ginger garlic paste – 2 teaspoons

Red chili – 1, sliced in the middle

Paprika – 1 teaspoon

Coriander powder – 1 teaspoon

Fennel powder – 1.5 teaspoons

Chili powder – 1.5 teaspoons

Salt – to taste

Pic 3Pic 4Pic 1Pic 2Pic 5

Step 1: Heat oil in a wok or U-shaped pan. Add the butter followed by paprika, coriander powder and fennel powder. Stir for few seconds.

Pic 6

Step 2: Add the green beans, carrots and baby corn along with the ginger garlic paste and cook for around 10 to 15 minutes or until almost cooked, stirring well every few minutes.

Pic 7

Step 3: Add the mushrooms and cook for another 5 minutes until it has softened and mixed well with rest of the ingredients. Follow by adding the grated coconut. Mix well.

Step 4: Add the egg whites and lightly mix with all the ingredients. Add salt for taste.

Pic 8

Step 5: Transfer to a serving dish. Serve hot immediately with bread of your choice.

A few tips:

  • I had run out of cream while preparing this dish. You can add whipped cream or coconut cream to the dish if you do not like it too dry.
  • If you do not like the eggs boiled, you can scramble them and add them to the dish too at Step 4.
  • If you’re a real spice lover, add more spices (which suits your palate) to the dish.

If you’ve enjoyed reading or cooking the above recipe, do subscribe to my blog by clicking the“Follow” button and “Like” my Facebook page at the top right hand corner for regular updates. Help spread the joy! 🙂

Pic 10

Enhanced by Zemanta

2 thoughts on “Coco-nutty Egg

Leave a Reply

