Chicken and Herbed Rice

Since the last two days I’ve been thinking about one incident….. the missing Malaysian Airlines flight with 239 passengers on board! The aircraft just vanished over the sea on Saturday early morning!! Several rescue ships and flights have been searching for it and they have found nothing yet. Yes nothing! It has been more than three days and still no signs of any wreckage or anything at all. I feel a shudder when I even start to think about it…. I cannot even imagine what the family members/relatives of the passengers must be going through. My prayers are with them. Although reporters say that chances are very less that the passengers are alive, yet at the corner of my heart I really hope they are!

When I hear incidents like this I feel very sad but at the same time it makes me realize that life is too short and unpredictable. No one knows what is going to happen the next moment. Hence we need to make the most of it every day. I thank God for blessing me with such wonderful family and friends without whom my life wouldn’t be the way it is today and I hope I can give them more than they shower on me 🙂

Thinking of happiness… my family associates happiness with good and healthy food… I’m sure most of you do too 🙂 So here’s my recipe for today to bring in a little more happiness to you and your family. It is a chicken recipe with a tomato based sauce and some herbs, and can be prepared within a very short time. If you want to go for a simple to cook yet yummy dish, this would surely make it to your list 🙂

Pic 9

Preparation Time: For the chicken – 10 minutes, For the rice – 25 minutes (to cook the rice),

Cooking Time: For the chicken – 15 minutes, For the rice – 5 minutes

Serves: 4 (for the chicken), 2 (for the rice)

Ingredients:

For the Chicken – 

Olive oil – 1 tablespoon

Chicken – Around 500-600 g, with bone. You can use boneless as well as per your preference

Tomato – 2 large, grind to a paste, or 1/2 cup tomato puree

Onion – 2 medium, sliced

Garlic – 8 cloves, each cut horizontally into 2 halves

Dried Oregano – 1 teaspoon

Dried parsley – 2 teaspoons

Mixed pepper + chili lime powder – 1/2 teaspoon each. You can use chili powder if you don’t have chili lime.

Butter – 2.5 teaspoons

Salt – to taste

Pic 3Pic 4

For the rice – 

Boiled rice – 1 cup

Butter – 1.5 teaspoons

Dried parsley – 1 teaspoon

Mixed pepper – 1 teaspoon

Salt – to taste

Pic 2Pic 1

Step 1: Cook the rice in a rice cooker or on your stove as usual. Let it cool down a bit. Heat a U-shaped vessel on the stove. Add the butter. After it has melted, add the rice. Mix well. Follow by adding the parsley and mixed pepper. Mix well. Add some salt for taste. Transfer to a serving bowl and keep aside.

Tip: I had some left over rice from the previous meal and didn’t feel like having simple boiled rice. The above seemed to be a good option and it goes well with any sauce based, roasted or grilled dish.

Pic 11

Step 2: The next step is to prepare the chicken. Heat the olive oil in a U-shaped pan or vessel. Add the butter.

Step 3: Add the chicken and mix well. Follow by adding the onion and garlic, and cook for around 3 minutes.

Pic 6

Step 4: Add the dried oregano, dried parsley and mix of chili lime powder and mixed pepper. Mix well with the chicken.

Pic 7

Step 5: Add the tomato paste or puree to the mixture. Mix well and cook the chicken for another few minutes until it is cooked properly. Add salt for taste.

Pic 8

Step 6: Transfer to a serving bowl and serve hot with the herbed rice.

If you’ve enjoyed reading or cooking the above recipe, do subscribe to my blog by clicking the“Follow” button and “Like” my Facebook page at the top right hand corner for regular updates. Help spread the joy! 🙂

Pic 10

Enhanced by Zemanta

4 thoughts on “Chicken and Herbed Rice

Leave a Reply

