Egg wrapped Tofu

The weekend has been busy. Well… I’ve done lots of work … cleaning the house, watching movies, dancing, and of course eating 😉 😀 I made some chocolates too for a friend’s birthday and they all loved it. So overall it’s been a normal and happy weekend 🙂 But weekends always pass so fast….I just can’t seem to get enough!! Sometimes I wish there was a day off midweek too. Hahaha…. it’s like more play than work. On second thoughts I guess a two day weekend is just fine 🙂

I won’t go on and on about the weekend. Coming straight to today’s recipe…..it’s a combi of egg and tofu. Actually, I didn’t realize tofu and egg would be such a great match until I prepared this dish. I got tofu from the wet market near my place as I like it fresh. For this dish, I added sesame seeds and apples along with other sauces and spices. The dish had a sweet and spicy flavor and was perfect for a Saturday lunch. I served the dish with rice but it can be served with noodles or bread too.

I hope you enjoy making the dish as much  I did. Have a good week and happy cooking 🙂

Pic 8

Preparation Time: 10 minutes

Cooking Time: 35 minutes

Serves: 3

Ingredients:

Cooking oil – As required (for frying the tofu) and 1 tablespoon for preparing the sauce.

Tofu – 400 g, cut into 1 inch rectangular pieces or other shape as desired

Egg – 1 or 2, beaten with a pinch of salt

Apple – 1 medium, cut into small cubes

Green beans – Around 10, chopped into 1 inch long pieces

Sesame seeds – 2 teaspoons

Garlic – 4 or 5 cloves, sliced

Chili sauce – 2 teaspoons

Tomato sauce – 2 tablespoons

Chili Lime or chili powder – 1 teaspoon

Mixed pepper – 1 teaspoon

Cashew – 1/4 cup

Water – 1/2 cup

Salt – to taste

Pic 1Pic 3

Step 1: Heat oil in a U-shaped pan or vessel. Dip the tofu pieces in the beaten egg and shallow fry them (around 5 at a time) until it has a nice golden brown color. Transfer them on to a plate with paper napkins to soak off the excess oil. Keep aside.

Pic 2

Step 2: Heat the rest one table spoon oil in the pan. Add the garlic cloves and stir for 15 to 20 seconds. 

Pic 4

Step 3: Add the green beans and cook for 2 to 3 minutes. Follow by stirring in the tomato sauce, chili sauce, chili lime and mixed pepper.

Pic 5

Step 4: Add the apples, cashew and half cup of water. Cook for another 10 minutes or so until the beans and apples are soft.

Pic 6

Step 5: Add the fried tofu and mix it well with the sauce. Add salt for taste as necessary.

Pic 7

Step 6: Transfer to a serving bowl and serve hot with rice or noodles.

If you’ve enjoyed reading or cooking the above recipe, do subscribe to my blog by clicking the“Follow” button and “Like” my Facebook page at the top right hand corner for regular updates. Help spread the joy! 🙂

Pic 9

Related articles

Enhanced by Zemanta

4 thoughts on “Egg wrapped Tofu

  1. Thanks…Hahaha… yes quite like french toast 🙂 Well…. I had a dozen apples in the fridge and thought of trying them in this dish. It gave a very nice fruity flavor 🙂

Leave a Reply

