Low calorie Chocolate Cake

Chocolate cake is one of my favorites among cakes, after Tiramisu. I also like simple marble cakes, black forest and the list goes on and on…. But I always find the cakes at bakeries to be too sweet and too heavy for my stomach! Although it is absolutely delicious….. yet it’s not something I would want to have every other day! I like to watch on my calories 😉

So, here’s the solution I came up with – a low-calorie chocolate cake. The recipe I’m posting today is actually my husband’s creation. He loves eating cakes and any kinds of sweet. So he came up with this recipe so that he feels less guilty about having a slice everyday and I have to say…… it’s my favorite!! It’s not very sweet or heavy on the stomach and I love having it after meals or with my evening tea. He has been baking this cake every now and then for almost a year now. So the other day I asked him to take a break and decided to give it a try. I followed the recipe religiously, but my hands were itching to do some sort of decoration. So I fulfilled it with some cream cheese, chocolate shavings and cherries!

If you love cakes and at the same time are conscious about your weight, this recipe is something which will make you happy for sure! You can omit the decoration part if you like it plain and simple 🙂

Pic 3

Preparation Time: 15 minutes

Baking Time: 15 minutes

Ingredients:

Plain flour – 100 g

Egg white of 2 eggs

Vegetable oil – 33 g

Castor sugar – 55 g

Low calorie chocolate milk – 100 ml

Cocoa powder – 3 tbsp

Margarine – 1 to 2 tsps

Dark chocolate chips – 2 tbsp (optional)

Baking powder – 2 tsp

Pic 6Pic 5

Step 1: Assemble all the ingredients first. Preheat oven at 180 degrees C for 10 minutes. Now sift the flour into a bowl. Sift the cocoa powder into the flour. Follow by adding the castor sugar.

Pic 7

Pic 8

Step 2: Add the egg white, vegetable oil, milk and margarine. Mix well until you have a thick runny consistency.

Pic 9

Step 3: Add the dark chocolate chips and mix well. The cake batter is now ready.

Step 4: Take a baking tray or bowl. Grease it with some oil. Pour the cake batter into the baking tray. Beat the tray a few times on the table so that it has set uniformly. Bake at around 180 degrees C for 10 minutes. Check it after 12 minutes or so.

To check if the cake is done, insert a fork or tooth pick or a cocktail stick in the middle. If it comes out clean, your cake is done. If not, bake for another 3 minutes and check again.

Pic 10

Step 5: Once the cake is ready, let it cool first at room temperature. After it has cooled, place a plate on top of the baking tray and turn it upside down to transfer it to the plate. You can choose to decorate the cake your own way. I decorated it with some cream cheese, chocolate shavings and cherries.

Pic 11

Step 6: Enjoy the low-calorie cake with your family and loved ones 🙂

To print this recipe click here: Low Calorie Chocolate Cake

If you’ve enjoyed reading or cooking the above recipe, do subscribe to my blog by clicking the“Follow” button and “Like” my Facebook page at the top right hand corner for regular updates. Help spread the joy! 🙂

Pic 4

 

Enhanced by Zemanta

2 thoughts on “Low calorie Chocolate Cake

Leave a Reply

