Pumpkin served with Couscous

Hello there! How has your weekend been so far? As for me, it has been a fun weekend, spending time with my family and friends. But Sundays are the days for testing my culinary skills and I try to prepare something different and unique each time. As I mentioned in one of my earlier posts, I’ve been trying to include vegetarian dishes in my diet and so here’s another one I prepared I was very satisfied with. It’s a very quick one and I prepared it with the ingredients I had at home 🙂

Pumpkin has been one of my favorite vegetables all along. However, most of the pumpkin dishes I’ve had and prepared till date were cooked in Indian style. This time I prepared it differently using red pepper, parsley and a few other spices. The dish turned out to be very colorful; the parsley and the red pepper imparted a very unique sweet fruity taste to the pumpkin…something entirely different from what I’ve had before.

Hope you enjoy preparing this dish and indulging in it too 🙂

Pic 10

Preparation Time: 15 minutes

Cooking Time: 30 minutes

Serves: 3

Ingredients:

Olive oil – 1.5 tbsp

Pumpkin – 1 big, cut into cubes

Onion – 1 medium, sliced

Tomato – 1 medium, cut into small squares

Red pepper – 1 big, cut into small cubes

Red chili flakes – 1 tsp

Dried parsley – 2 tsp

Paprika – 3 tsp

Cumin powder – 1.5 tsp

Turkish spice mix – 1 tsp. You can prepare this at home as well by mixing black pepper, fennel seeds, cumin seeds, coriander seeds, cinnamon and cloves in a grinder into a powder.

Vegetable stock – 1 cup

Couscous – 1 cup

Salt – to taste

Pic 1Pic 4Pic 2Pic 3

Step 1: Boil the couscous with salt according to the packet instructions. Keep aside.

Pic 8

Step 2: Heat oil in a pan. Add the onions and tomatoes and cook for 2 minutes.

Pic 5

Step 3: Add the cumin powder, spice mix, paprika and dried parsley. Mix well. Follow by adding the red pepper. Stir and mix well. Cook for around 3 minutes.

Pic 6

Step 4: Add the pumpkin cubes and mix well. After stirring occasionally for another 5 minutes, add the vegetable stock. Let it cook until the pumpkins are soft and you have the desired consistency. Make sure you stir every few minutes as required. Add salt for taste.

Pic 7

Step 5: Transfer to a serving dish. Serve hot with the couscous or freshly baked bread of your choice.

A few tips:

  • You can add some dried fruits to the dish as per your preference.
  • Add 2 tsp of clarified butter (ghee) to the dish while it’s hot to add some extra flavor.

To print this recipe click here: Pumpkin served with Couscous

If you’ve enjoyed reading or cooking the above recipe, do subscribe to my blog by clicking the“Follow” button and “Like” my Facebook page at the top right hand corner for regular updates. Help spread the joy! 🙂

Pic 11

 

Enhanced by Zemanta

4 thoughts on “Pumpkin served with Couscous

  1. Pingback: Food for a dumb vegetarian – feast | Loccmama fucks cliches.

  2. Pingback: Cooking Couscous | jovinacooksitalian

Leave a Reply

