Pickled Radish

I like getting creative in the kitchen when I have time on hands. I guess reading different cook books helps. I find them to be very good source of knowledge for different ingredients and style of cooking. So while in the kitchen, I like mixing up various ingredients I already have and creating a dish out of it or giving some twist to the already well-known recipes.

Since I’ve made it a point to include enough vegetables in my diet nowadays, I try to cook pure vegetarian recipes (without any chicken, meat, egg etc) as well. So the other day, I decided to get a little creative using the radish, spring onion and few other vegetables I had in stock. Pickles are one of my favorites and I like using them often. So I cooked this dish in Indian style mixing the ingredients with pickle. I decided to add some honey too later on. I wasn’t sure about the output, but the dish turned out to have a very nice sweet and spicy flavor. I guess that is the fun part of cooking. You can mix stuff which are not part of the usual and yet create a delicious recipe! 🙂

Hope you enjoy cooking this dish. If you have flavorful recipe of your own, please do share it. I would love to try it out as well 🙂

Pic 2

Preparation Time: 15 minutes

Cooking Time: around 30 minutes

Serves: 4

Ingredients:

Cooking oil – 2 tbsp

Radish – 2 large, chopped into small cubes

Spring Onion – 200 g, chopped

Potato – 3 small, cut into cubes

Green peas – around 1/4 cup

Cinnamon sticks – 1 to 2 small sticks (as desired)

Cardamom  – 3

Cloves – 4 to 5

Turmeric powder – 2 tsp

Paprika – 1 tsp

Chili powder – 1 tsp

Coriander powder – 2 tsp

Cumin powder – 2 tsp

Indian pickle of your choice (I used chili pickle) – 2 tbsp

Honey – 3 tsp

Salt – to taste

Pic 8Pic 6Pic 7

Step 1: Heat 1 tablespoon of oil in a pan. Add the potato and turmeric. Cook for around 2 to 3 minutes.

Pic 5

Step 2: Add the cardamom, cloves and cinnamon sticks. Follow by adding the rest of the oil and the radish. Mix and cook for around 5 minutes.

Pic 10

Step 3: Add the spring onions and green peas. Add the rest of the spices (coriander powder, cumin powder, chili powder, paprika) and mix well. Let  the mixture cook for another 15 to 20 minutes or until the radish is soft. Stir occasionally as required. You will notice that the radish releases a bit of water. So you would need to cook for a while until you get rid of the excess water, so that you have an almost dry consistency.

Pic 3

Pic 4

Step 4: When the radish is almost done, add the pickle and honey and mix well. Cook for another minute or so. Add salt as required.

Step 5: Serve hot with Indian bread or rice.

To print this recipe click here: Pickled Radish

If you’ve enjoyed reading or cooking the above recipe, do subscribe to my blog by clicking the“Follow” button and “Like” my Facebook page at the top right hand corner for regular updates. Help spread the joy! 🙂

Pic 1

 

Enhanced by Zemanta

Leave a Reply

