Radish and Potatoes

This is my second post on radish. To be honest, I’m not a big fan of radish. So when I cook any radish recipe, I try to flavor it up with something other than the normal. I can’t remember the radish recipes which were cooked at home when I was a kid, but it was definitely not something I liked back then as well. I think it was mostly radish added to mixed vegetables or just normal radish curries (which were damn boring)! But I realized with the right spices and ingredients, radish is not that bad!

So I cooked this recipe few days ago on one of the weekdays. Weekdays are always tight in schedule, so I had to make something which was not so time-consuming. I had one radish in stock, so I decided to add in some potatoes to add volume to the dish.

Hope you enjoy cooking this the way I did ūüôā

061

Preparation Time: 15 minutes

Cooking Time: around 25 minutes

Serves: 3

Ingredients:

Cooking oil – 1.5 tbsp

Radish – 1 large, cut into cubes

Potatoes – 2 medium, sliced

Onion – 1 medium, sliced into rings

Cumin seeds – 1 to 2 tsp

Garlic – 4 cloves, crushed

Cumin powder Р 2 tsp

Mint flakes – dried, 1 to 2 tsp

Dried Chili – 1

Paprika – 2 to 3 tsp

Tutti frutti – around 1 tbsp

Water – around 1/2 to 1 cup

Sugar – 1 tsp

Salt – as required

052053055

Step 1: Heat oil in a non-stick U-shaped vessel or pan. Add the dried chili and cumin seeds. Once they splutter, add the potatoes. Follow by adding the paprika and mix well. Cook for around 2 minutes by stirring intermittently.

056

Step 2: Add the onion and cook for another 2 to 3 minutes.

057

Step 3: Follow by adding the cubed radish, garlic and cumin powder. Mix well for around 1 to 2 minutes. Now add half to one cup water and cover the pan. Cook under low flame for around 10 to 15 minutes. Uncover the pan and stir every once in a while. Add salt to taste.

058

Step 4: Once it is almost done, add the tutti frutti and sugar. Mix well and cook for another 2 minutes or so.

Step 5: Serve hot with Indian or any other freshly baked of your choice.

A few tips:

  • Add cream (1/4 to 1/2 cup as you desire) instead of water, if you want to give a thick and creamy texture to your dish.
  • Add some chili powder and ghee (clarified butter) if you want to spice up your dish and add extra flavor.
  • You can add raisins if you don’t have tutti frutti in stock.

To print this recipe click here: Radish and Potatoes

If you’ve enjoyed reading or cooking the above recipe, do¬†subscribe¬†to my blog by clicking the‚ÄúFollow‚Ä̬†button and¬†‚ÄúLike‚Ä̬†my¬†Facebook page¬†at the top right hand corner for regular updates. Help spread¬†the joy! ūüôā

060

 

 

Related articles

Leave a Reply

